OS grid reference:- SE 753 652
The oldest part of the village lies within a conservation area and is south of the village pub, along Main Street. There are fifteen Grade II listed buildings in Westow, including St. Mary's church, the village pub, Westow Hall, Yew Tree Cottage, Chantry Cottage, Corner House, Fox & Hounds House, Herbert Cottage, Manor Farmhouse, Tarrs Cottages, and High Farmhouse amongst others.
St Mary's church, which is situated around a mile from the village, was once known as St Mary of the moor or St Mary ad mora. It is believed to stand on Anglo-Saxon foundations, and was originally placed there as a monk’s cell, with a beacon light to guide people over the wolds from the monasteries of Bridlington and Beverley to Kirkham Priory.
The structure was rebuilt in 1862 in the Early English style, however, the tower is Norman, as is the font with cable decoration and the piscina. The church contains a rare cresset stone, thought to have originated from nearby Kirkham Priory, and a memorial to George Montaigne, Squire of Westow and a nephew of the Archbishop of York, he fought as a cavalry officer on the Royalist side in the Civil War of 1642. There are many other memorials and hatchments including the Royal Coat of Arms of George III positioned over the nave. The pulpit was made by the famous Mouseman of Kilburn. Keys can be obtained from churchwardens and other Village Church Council members.
The village pub, the Blacksmith's Arms, is over three hundred years old and serves good home made, locally sourced food. The village has many characterful old stone cottages. Westow Hall (pictured right) is a particularly fine seventeenth century house. Westow also boasts an active village cricket team with a strong family tradition and records reveal the team existed as far back as 1875. There are regular Pétanque tournaments in the village involving teams from all over Yorkshire.